top of page

Butterworth Digital Library: Bookless Study and Work Hub


Butterworth Digital Library entrance
Butterworth Digital Library Entrance

After one year and six months, I finally revisited Butterworth’s Digital Library.

Rather than a library, I prefer to call it a study hub. It does not offer any physical reading materials, but tables and charging ports for devices. It had the same vibe as the study hub in my university, where people gathered to study or chill.

Many might not remember this was once a community hall. It might be the fact that the apartment blocks had shielded it from public view. When it was demolished into a modern, multipurpose hub, it received attention from the public and media.

After our trip to the local temple, I let Ruien experience the library’s atmosphere.

The striking vertical green façade helps to shield the sunlight’s invasion. After entering the building, there is a corridor dedicated to the building’s green technology. Visitors could stay around and slowly digest the detailed descriptions and history.


The Experience


Butterworth Digital Library
First Floor Study Hub

The minimalist interior allows visitors to work in a broad space with minimal distractions. Just bring your own device and work wherever you want, as long as you keep quiet.

We sat on the wooden podium in the middle of the room (yes; it is a sitting area) and worked on our own tasks. The last time I visited the library, it was packed with curious visitors who were curious about this bookless library. This time, there were only college students and OT folks who wished to concentrate in a peaceful environment.

“It’s too quiet,” Ruien turned off her laptop. “I prefer some noises in the background.”

“I do like this place,” I stretched my body, reactivating my muscles. “I might come back someday.”

We walked out of the hub and ventured upstairs. The first floor is a more private study hub, where partitions are set for individual learning. There was a reading space for children, but I doubt it will be open for the next few years. The top floor is a seminar room for private functions, which reminded me of my university lectures.

I heard the library offers digital publications which are shared with Penang Digital Library. Of course, it comes with a yearly subscription. As much as I am thrilled to discover the titles, I soon remembered my stack of unread books at home.


Tea Break


Butterworth Digital Library: Cozy Cafe
Cozy Cafe

Feeling burned out after staring at the screen for long hours?

There is the Cozy Café, right outside of the library where you can eat in a cosy environment.

This was my first visit to this minimalist corridor-length café. I had been yearning to pay this newly established café a visit. The menu offered light bites, pastries, and drinks. The only thing that I really came for was the pies, which I had not tasted for some time. So, we ordered two pies in different flavours. Then, we exchanged pies after a few bites.


Cozy Cafe: Chicken pie & iced coffee
Chicken pie and iced coffee

“The mushroom tastes better,” Ruien declared the winner of pies. The chicken was not bad, but the mushroom definitely took the upper ground.

“This is the place I would come back after work on Saturdays,” Ruien sipped on her iced Americano. “Only if they have a full course meal.”

I agreed. I would return for the mushroom pie, or try out their waffle.

On the way back, I saw people having pizza and sandwiches in the outdoor sitting area. So it is possible to order food via delivery apps, as long as you finish the food before entering the hub.


Overall Rating: 8.5/10

Date of Visitation: 24th Jul 2020 & 16th Jan 2022


E-books Membership Fee (Annual):

  • Adult: RM 60

  • Student: RM 30


Address: Lebuh Benggali 1, Kampung Benggali, 12000 Butterworth, Pulau Pinang

Opening Hours:

  • Library: 9am to 6pm (Daily)

  • Cozy Cafe: 10 am to 6.30 pm (Tues to Sun)


Socials:





Thank you for reading my travel story.

I'm Jenny, you may read my bio here.

Hear more stories of the world.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
bottom of page