top of page

Butterworth Art Walk: Hidden in a Humble Lane



Butterworth Art Walk
Seberang Prai Sugar


It was only a few weeks ago I learned about Butterworth Art Walk.

Overshadowed by its infamous counterpart on the island, this mural street stays humbly near Penang Sentral. As a mainlander (that’s what we call the non-islanders), I felt guilty for not knowing about the artistic corner in my hometown.

After a fulfilling lunch with my friends, we were looking for some locations to kill time. So, I proposed to check out the area.


The Experience

We parked our vehicles near Dataran Pemuda Merdeka. The painted container was the first item that attracted my attention. Was it there before? It could be a new instalment along with the mural street.

I almost could not find the lane until my friend Agnes pointed it out.

Butterworth Art Walk
Butterworth Art Walk Entrance

Our venture begins with a large #butterworthartwalk at the entrance. The art gallery embodies the local icons like coconuts, the Seberang Prai sugar, and the fishing industry through skilled utilisation of paint and designs. Even so, the artists did not repaint the whole building and retained the worn-down walls and rusty doors.

Butterworth Art Walk
The pineapple (nanas) and Paddy Field workers

Butterworth Art Walk
Elephant Mural

This is definitely the place to have a short stroll after dining in Raja Uda. If you are from other parts of Malaysia, give this lane a short visit before heading to the island.


Date of Visitation: 3 Feb 2022


Address: 1, Lorong Bagan Luar 1, Bagan Luar, 12000 Butterworth, Pulau Pinang


Thank you for reading my travel story.

I'm Jenny, you may read my bio here.

Hear more stories of the world.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
bottom of page