top of page

Tales of the Forbidden Land: A Tale of Companionship

A short fiction piece written for my friend, based on the roleplaying game Forbidden Lands.

 

You may have known the story of Ambrose the Great and her mount, Lucius the drakewyrm. Now here is the tale of their encounter.


Decades ago, Ambrose was a young trainee in the Maidenhood. A druid filled with life and energy who was absorbed in the world of herbs and magical plants. One day, as usual, she was studying the plants in Arina Forest, a rich place full of exotic flowers and fungi. This time, she was searching for the Red-Dotted Mushrooms by the riverside.


When Ambrose was writing down notes, she saw round silver scales by the riverbank, along with a trail of blue liquid. Full of curiosity, the young druid followed the blue stream and collected the shiny scales. Eventually, it took her to a dark cave. Little did she know that a male drakewyrm was residing in there. The creature immediately sensed her presence in his home, waking him from his slumbers.


"Tsk! Who dares to disturb the home of a drakewyrn?" It roared, startling Ambrose in the process.


"G-good afternoon," she spoke. "I'm sorry to intrude on your home sweet home."


The creature soon noted the emerald on her forehead and ruby on her hand.


"I see you are an elf," he growled. "And a member of the Maidenhood."


"Yes?"


"Tsk! I despise anyone who carries more flashy objects than me. You shall be eaten as my meal of the day."


"Hold on!" Ambrose cried. "You shall not eat me!"


The drakewyrn scowled. "Why is that?"


"The blue blood and the silver scales, they brought me here." She showed him the scales in her palms. "You must be injured."


The creature hissed at the maiden.


"Tsk! It's none of your business."


"I know how to heal your wound if you give me time to find the herbs to make medicine."


The drakewyrn thought for a short while, then he gave his answer:


"One hour. Or else I'll hunt you down and eat you."


The druid left the cave and began to search for yellow flowers like Yarrow and Goldenrod, which was proven to be effective in wound healing. At the same time, she set up traps to capture small wild animals. She then returned to the cave and utilized the remaining time to prepare meals and medicine for the creature. Within the time limit, Ambrose managed to heal the drakewyrn and gave him food to fill himself.


"How can an elf know how to hunt better than me?" The creature exclaimed.


"I have skills."


"Tsk! It's annoying. I have no choice but to let you go then."


Ambrose thanked him and walked herself out of the cave. Before she could step out of the dark grotto, the drakewyrn called:


"Hey, elf! I have something for you!"


The creature presented a silver whistle, which the metallic item glittered along with his scales.


"My gift, for you. One blow and I, Lucius, will come over and perform any of your favors."


Ambrose smiled and hugged her new friend. She promised Lucius that she would visit him sometimes and bring him delicious meals. She also had a feeling that one day, when in trouble, she would blow the whistle, and her friend would come and help her.

 

Finished by, 28th April 2020

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page