top of page

Plants, Caravan, and Cans


CAN by Haru Hari
CAN by Haru Hari

CAN by Haru Hari is that one place my family has been talking about but never got the chance to visit. What sets us off from dining there is the implausible crowd during the weekends. Until one Friday my mom dropped me to try out their food. Passing through their porch that has been redesigned almost identical to an English park, with a lane surrounded by ferns, trees, and adeptly trimmed sheds. A white caravan in front of the wooden deck is for the baristas, working their magic with hot drinks and mocktails. Even for a weekday, the establishment was almost packed with hungry patrons and working entrepreneurs. There was a line in front of the wooden counter, where potted plants were displayed in fashionable order. My first thought went straight to my dad, who would be delighted at the sight of green leaves and cacti. For anyone who purchased food and drinks, they could enjoy a discounted deal when purchasing a potted plant.


CAN by Haru Hari
Trees

CAN by Haru Hari
Counter

What You Can Have There


For lunch, I ordered carbonara with flame chicken and a can of Yuzu-Yuzu soda drink. Their non-caffeine drinks come in canned form, with an orange caravan logo printed on the hard plastic surface. I waited at the long bar table facing the main road of Gelugor, watching the cars dashing back and forth. The rattan shaped lamp cover swung above my head in a gentle motion, the bulb barely illuminating the area. My soda arrived. The lime and mint were having a waltz in the small, confined can. Submerging at the bottom of the sparkling soda was the yellowish yuzu, which produced the sweet and sour sensation. The strawberry soda must be popular. I had seen the servers taking them into the cafe from the drink caravan. Who could not resist the strawberries bobbing on the surface of the soda?


They drenched the spaghetti in a thin layer of white sauce, with grilled red chicken laid on top of the pasta. Taste was fine, but there are better options out there. It could be the fact that I was craving for something plain but ended up getting something creamy for lunch. There were other Western delights and desserts on the menu, but I was too stuffed to try out another plate. The best I could do was take away one Matcha drink and enjoy it on my way back home. The couple next to me was sharing a strawberry parfait, a small dessert with strawberries lined within a can full of cream.

CAN by Haru Hari
Carbonara Chicken

The Experience


If you enjoy an environment with some background chattering noise, this is the cafe for you. I put on my earbuds, blocking myself from the surroundings while concentrating on the pool of words and text. Someone was celebrating their birthday. When the ‘Happy Birthday’ song played, a brief awkward silence took over the café. No one had any idea who was celebrating their cake day since it was only the background music played. Behind the cafe is a clothing store displaying summer garments for tropical climates. My priority was warm clothes to survive the winter when I study in the UK. For someone who sneezes like a cow under cold temperature, I had to take fewer clothes made of thin materials. This is the place for those who are looking for fashionable crop tops. A day where I could enjoy the cafe’s atmosphere in peace would never come.


CAN by Haru Hari
Caravan


(I'm trying to adapt to my tablet mode since my laptop is under maintanence. There might be some formatting issues and I will amend once I get my laptop back.)




Date of Visitation: 8th July 2022

Overall rating: 7.5 out of 10


Address: 62, Lebuh Glugor, Taman Gelugur, 11600 Jelutong, Pulau Pinang

Opening Hours: Daily (10am-10pm)



Socials




Thank you for reading my travel story.

I'm Jenny, you may read my bio here.

Hear more stories of the world.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
bottom of page