top of page

Guildford Walk Tour


Dapdune Wharf Guildford
Dapdune Wharf

It has become a tradition for the University of Surrey’s clubs and societies to travel from the campus to the castle.

My first Guildford town tour was for international students, in which a pleasant guide named Candace gave us some pointers on important places in town. I was dragging my heavy backpack around, unable to capture the scenery and jot down my observations. This time, I followed the photography club to capture the best scenes around Guildford.

Embarking from the Golf, we began our journey out of the campus. I was engrossed in a conversation with my new friend Abi, who was doing her PhD in chemistry (a subject which is out of my league, literally and figuratively). Walking across the Yorkie’s Railway Bridge, we exited to the riverside. I remembered Candace had mentioned the bridge was once owned by a Lord, which now served as a link between the campus to town.

University of Surrey
The Golf

Yohan, the club’s enthusiastic treasurer, knew his way around the best spots in Guildford. Heading West, he took us to a colossal red brick bridge.

“I don’t know the name of this bridge,” he said. “But I knew you can take beautiful pictures around.”

All the members went into a photograph frenzy. Abi and the other more experienced photographers had their device ready, capturing all angles of the river and the bridge. Amateurs like me made their best effort to capture the best scenes from the eye-level. This place had a magnificent view. The ripples of the river made it difficult to estimate the depth of the water, but the clear water reflected the wharf and the clouds. Standing on top of the wooden and steel footbridge, I took a snapshot of the scenery that resembled an oil painting.




“You can ask for a boat cruise,” Abi pointed at one of the houses around Dapdune Wharf. “Just right opposite the bank.”

So that was where the river cruise began. When I was on the way to town with Elly, a friend from Hong Kong, two weeks ago, we saw a group of Englishmen cruising through the water. One day, I shall venture the rivers in this town.

After a fleeting moment, we embarked on the journey to town via the quiet riverbank footpath. Boats parked by the side of the river, with a few abandoned vessels veiled in fallen leaves and branches. The red and yellow autumn trees danced along the chilly evening breeze, and the wild bushes grew tiny raspberries in between the leaves. What a gorgeous sight to behold.

As we almost reached the town center, the river became narrower and murkier. The trees shifted into old warehouses, most of which remained for other purposes. The old electricity works, once supplying power to the town center, now serve as a local theatre for art workshops and performances. From the first moment I laid eyes on this building, I yearned to know more about the conversion from industrial to cultural purposes. If possible, I would like to watch one of the performances in the Electric Theatre.


Electric Theatre Guildford
Electric Theatre

Crossing the blue and white Friary bridge, we reached the ever-busy Guildford High Street. I have yet to discover most parts of the street. On the first day I arrived at Guildford, I had a cup of fragrant latte from a pop-up stall. I bought a croissant from a pastry stall, and the auntie gave me a free carrot cake. During my first Guildford tour, the High Street was our final destination before we went our separate ways.

This time, our next stop was further up Quarry Street. We walked past St. Mary’s Church, the town’s oldest surviving structure. This was where author Lewis Carroll had his funeral before being buried in Mount Cemetery with his siblings. Surrounding this Anglican church are English pubs and inns, each bears a reputation such as ‘the most haunted pub’ or ‘the longest-running music venue’.

St. Mary's Church
St. Mary's Church

Guildford Castle is the attraction one shall not miss. Built by William the Conqueror, the castle played the role of the King’s private apartment, prison, and military fortress. After the 14th century, the castle towers and walls were neglected and left to decay. What we see today results from a long-running conservation project: the eroded castle walls and the keep for tourism.

Last time Candace took us around the castle grounds, we marveled at the vibrant flowerbeds and perfectly trimmed bushes. I imagined myself sitting on the bench, reading a book borrowed from the library. It would be better if I had company, so we could eat takeaways and chat until dusk.

Eh?

Where are the flowers?

It was just grass with exposed soil forming geometrical patterns around the area. The lack of flora was making the grounds appear bald and void of life. Photographers had to adapt this new theme of the bleak autumn.

Guildford Castle
Guildford Castle Grounds

“It’s a shame that the flowers were uprooted for winter,” Abi said.

“How about Springtime?” I asked. “By then, the flowers will return and bloom, right?”

“Absolutely,” she cried with anticipation. “I came on my birthday, and it was gorgeous.”

I am looking forward to March, waiting for the first flower to bloom.

Following the path towards the castle’s entrance, we reached the concourse area for a full panoramic view of the town and the close-knitted houses. The society members gathered there for a group picture, as a conclusion to our Guildford town tour.

Guildford Castle
Guildford Castle

Guildford Castle
Guildford Castle Walls

Guildford Castle
Guildford Castle Walls


But Yohan had other ideas.

“We could make it to the hills,” he said. “If you want a good view of the sunset.”

“But it might rain soon.” Abi looked up to the grey, cloudless sky.

Yohan led the group back to St. Mary’s Church. Abi left midway, as her accommodation was just nearby. Soon, Yohan and the other committees realized the sky had turned darker. A sign to head back instead of going forward.

“I guess we will go to the hills next time,” Yohan said. “In the meantime, our lovely Jade volunteered to lead us back to Stag Hill.”

He received a groan from the collabs manager.

As everyone was ready to leave, I parted ways towards the Friary Bus Station. There was no point heading back to campus when my accommodation was in the opposite direction.

Abi was right. Rain befell Guildford around six-thirty.


Date of Visitation: 7th October 2022

Thank you for reading my travel story.

I'm Jenny, you may read my bio here.

Hear more stories of the world.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
bottom of page